UNEP – Oxford Smith School High Level Launch

Are we building back better?

An online UNEP-Oxford panel discussion with leaders from key countries and international institutions.

with the support of

WEDNESDAY 10TH MARCH 2021

Key questions for a sustainable and inclusive recovery

“Are we building back better?”is a key moment, bringing together global leaders and international institutions, to debate progress, explore openings, and attempt to answer some of the major questions following the Covid-19 pandemic.


The global economy has contracted by nearly 4% in 2020. Internationally, more than two million people have died, over 100 million have been infected and many hundreds of millions have been thrown out of work or reduced to poverty.  And three planetary crises loom: climate instability, nature loss, and increasing levels of pollution. Efforts to recover from the pandemic must take account of these crises or risk further shocks and take us farther from achieving Sustainable Development.

Our team of international leaders and experts will ask and answer the questions that matter:

 

 

  • What is at risk if we fail to build back better?
  • Can recovery spending bring strong economic and job impacts while securing environmental progress?
  • Have countries been using Covid-19 spending to tackle climate change, nature loss, and pollution?
  • How can countries better leverage recovery spending to accelerate the transition to a sustainable and more equitable world?
 

The conference will also serve as a launch pad for a major new report from the Global Recovery Observatory, detailing recovery efforts in the top 50 economies of the world – and whether these align with environmental goals. A data visualisation hub using the data from the Observatory, developed by UNDP and hosted on the UNDP Data Futures Platform, will also go live after the panel.

Panellists

moderated by

nozi-129
Nozipho Tshabalala - The Conversation Strategist

Date

 

Wednesday, 10th March 2021

 

Time


14h30 – 15h30 UK
15h30 – 16h30 CET
09h30 – 10h30 EST
22h30 – 23h30 CST

 

Location: Online

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Days
Hours
Minutes
Seconds